Seascapes on Etsy

I visit antique shops out of curiosity just to browse what’s there. Every once in awhile something will speak to me and if it’s the right price and a good fit, I bring it home and put it out on display.

Several years ago I stumbled across a rectangular seascape oil painting in a vintage shop and it reminded me so much of the coast near my home, a place called Bodega Head where you can look out over the cliffs down at a stunning sea view where waves crash against jagged rocks. (See today’s Instagram post for a 10 second view).

That painting now hangs above my fireplace in my family room and has for several years. It captures the look and feel of the Northern California coastline so close to home, and also shares the colors of the space: teal blues and brown tones.

 

I’m drawn to seascapes not only because of the subject but also because I recognized the challenge of painting the movement of water, and how difficult it must be to recreate the waves and the reflection of light.

Large scale seascape paintings will take the spotlight in a space, but smaller seascapes clustered in a gallery wall arrangement are equally alluring.

 

 

images: southern living / emily henderson

 

If you love seascapes too, but want something vintage, do a search on Etsy or Ebay for “vintage seascape painting” and you’ll find a variety of oil paintings to choose from. Or visit your local antique shop, you may stumble across a good one!

If you’re looking for something new or original, here are several sources for oil, acrylic, and watercolor seascapes from Etsy artists:

Landscapes & Sea

 

 

The Painted Life Studio

 

 

 

Carmen’s Art

 

 

Virginia Lawton

 

 

Watercolor Story

 

 

 

 

Johnsen Arts

 

 

 

John White Studios

 

 

Agostino Veroni

 

 

Australia Art

 

 

If you know of any other artists that paint seascapes, feel free to share in the comments!

from HVAC https://centsationalstyle.com/2018/03/seascapes-on-etsy/

Leave a comment